Gen 1:13 Breaking The Rules

(This is the last post of Generation 1! Tomorrow, generation 2 will start)

I am becoming increasingly worried about Scarlett, I put her behavior down to general  teenage rebellion, you know staying out after curfew, pulling pranks but now its getting ridiculous! I was jogging after dinner through the park and I saw Scarlett with Damien Ritz, making out on a bench. I stormed over to them

“What the hell do you think your doing Scarlett? Home. Now. You too Damien! And don’t you think I won’t be telling your grandmother about your intervention in my family’s life”

Scarlett glowered at me all the way home,

“Don’t look at me like that young lady! You know that you are betrothed! Betrothed to someone who is not Damien Ritz, in case you haven’t noticed!”

“You weren’t betrothed to dad, why am I betrothed?”

“Because the Goth’s are a highly respectable family. You and Mortimer are also ideally matched for perfect children.”

“So its all about perfect kids?? I’m hardly perfect am I? Why don’t you just make Summer heir?”

“Because Summer and Mortimer don’t click the way you two do!”

“We were kids!!”

“Don’t use that argument with me! Get into your room now!”

We were home now, Scarlett stormed into her room and I heard Summer quietly ask what was wrong and then convince her to put up with Mortimer.

“But I don’t want a loveless marriage! Mum and dad actually love each other, Mortimer and I barely know each other!”

“Please, it’ll be okay, you’ll learn to love him. Please. Do this for me. You know my plans!”

Scarlett sighed and eventually the girls fell asleep. I stood outside their door for a while, finally I stepped inside and found Summer’s journal on their dresser.

Feeling guilty I flipped through it until I found today’s entry,

Dear Diary,

Seeing Chase today was awesome, but I know mum wont approve of him, she’d never accept him and I’m unlucky to be accepted by the Ritz family. But that doesn’t matter to us, as long as Scarlett stays heir I’m allowed to marry whoever I wish as long as mum approves. Chase and I agreed on running away to our town of birth, Sunset Valley. We’re going to run on the night of Mortimer and Scarlett’s wedding, which is 6 weeks away, the day after mine and Scarlett’s 19th birthday. It’s going to hurt me to be away from my family, especially Scarlett and not being an aunt, but we’re in love.

My blood ran cold reading this, surely my daughter wouldn’t run away! I quickly woke Scarlett and showed her the entry,

“Mortimer and I are marrying the day after my birthday?!”

“That’s all you can think about? Your sister wants to run away!!”

Scarlett shrugged, “She’ll come back, we’re inseparable. Maybe if you weren’t so pushy you’d have kids who actually wanted and could stand to be around you! You wonder why Liam is never here!! He’s always at Eliza’s because he can’t stand you!!”

So my kids hate me, one of my daughters is running away and my son is never around while my other daughter intends to make me regret her betrothal forever. I can’t wait to retire with Edward. I’ll be moving out as soon as Scarlett and Mortimer marry I’ve decided.