Gen 3:17 Emmy

I slumped on the bathroom floor feeling utterly crushed. Last week I’d. taken a pregnancy test which came back positive, and now I was bleeding. I’d told Tek about the test but we both tried not to get our hopes up too high.

“Tek, could you come here for a minute?” I tried to stand up as he came through the door but I just couldn’t,

“Jasmyn? Sweetheart are you okay?” I shook my head and my vision blurred as I tried to look up at him,

“Oh god, come on, hospital. Now.” Tek helped me into the car and held my hand the journey, by the time we got to the hospital I was shaking and could barely stand.

*****

“I am truly sorry Mrs Tempest-Logan,” I held my head in my hands as Tek sat next to me, staring at the floor,

“You may try again in a couple of months.” I bit my lip to stop myself from screaming at this doctor, I don’t want to try again, I shouldn’t be miscarrying, I’m healthy!!

“Is there any way to determine whats going wrong?” Tek spoke up, devastation still clear on his face.

“Well, we could certainly try to determine what is causing this. We will need your wife’s consent though.” I looked up,

“I’m in.”

*****

“So its down to me that we cant conceive?”

“Jasmyn, its not your fault!”

“Oh I’m sorry, you have a womb that was damaged when you fell from a bloody unicorn??”

“Sweetheart calm down please! It’s not your fault!” I huffed and looked up at him,

“What do you want to do then?”

“I think we should consider adoption or maybe fertility treatment.”

“Well, there’s a children’s home about an hour away from us, maybe we could visit in a few weeks and just look into adoption. And go for fertility treatment later.”

“Do you want me to go and phone them now?” I nodded and pulled him closer

“Thank you,”

“Anything for you.”

*****

“So you are looking into adopting a younger child? Well, we have a girl here, her mother gave her up when she was a few months old.”

“Why is she still here?”

“People in this town can be rather suspicious, the child has unusual coloured eyes, which sparks the ‘she’s a witch’ panic. Its ridiculous, she’s a year old for crying out loud! Anyway, would you like to see her?”

“Of course,”

“She’s adorable!” Tek was first to speak when we saw the child, “Can I hold her?”

“Of course!” Tek scooped her up into his arms,

“What’s her name?”

“My name Emmy!” The girl in Tek’s arms was grinning up at him,

“Her name is Emily, but we tend to call her Emmy for short.” I moved closer to Tek and studied her face, she smiled at me and touched my cheek,

“Pretty lady,” Tek smiled at me,

“She’s not wrong there,” He tickled her under her arm and she squealed at him.

“I think she likes us,”

“Yes, she isn’t usually like this when we have visitors, its rather strange,” Ms Ritz smiled at us, “Well, not strange but rather unusual behavior for her.”

“Hmm, cant say I’m complaining,” Tek was now playing blocks with Emmy on the floor, playing the big kid, I chewed my lip unsure of whether to join them when Emmy turned around and smiled at me,

“Mama play too?” Disbelief registered on Ms Ritz’s face when Emmy spoke to me,

“I’m sorry, Mrs Tempest! We try to teach the children not to say such things!” I smiled at her,

“I dont mind at all, in fact.. I think we’ve found our daughter,”

“Well, okay then. If you could come to my office we can look at adoption papers and you should be able to take her home in 3 weeks provided everything goes through okay.”

“I’m so relieved someone is finally adopting Emmy, she’s the only one of the children here who hasn’t got a home,”

“I’m surprised nobody adopted her, people tend to go for babies first.”

“Not when that child has unusual eyes, as the case appears to be.”

“But she’s gorgeous regardless of her eyes!”

“I’m glad you feel that way Mr Logan.”

Eventually we signed the papers and we went home to go prepare the nursery for Emmy, Tek had gone baby mad and had stayed up painting the room with me until 3am.

*****

“Mrs Tempest?”

“Speaking,”

“It’s Fran from the children’s home, your paperwork went through and Emmy is waiting to be picked up anytime you’re ready!”

“Are you serious? We finished the nursery yesterday, can we pick her up today??”

“Of course you can! What time will you be coming?”

“Hang on let me ask Tek, I’ll phone you back.” Tek was down in his basement art studio working on some more paintings for galleries,

“Tek!! The paperwork went through we can go pick up Emmy!” Tek half threw down his paintbrush,

“Then what the hell are we dithering around in here for? Lets go!”

“Hang on let me phone Fran and make sure thats okay with her!”

Tek tapped his foot impatiently, waiting for me to give him the all clear, finally Fran agreed to us picking Emmy up within an hour.

Emmy didn’t make one noise of complaint when Tek and I came to collect her, in fact she squealed and ran over to me, holding on to my legs. Tek smiled and tickled her which made her entire face light up with laughter.

*****

Emmy, it turned out was an easy child to look after, provided she was taken out to the park at least once a day, a job Tek loved doing, especially when it came to the spring riders. Tek had also become part of the video camera parenting group, if Emmy was doing something as little as playing with a toy Tek would be running around getting his camera out, it was so sweet.

*****

“Okay, Emmy, time for bed say night to daddy,”

“Night daddy,” Tek was busy working on a painting of Emmy and me but he turned and gave her a quick hug, trying not to get any paint on her. Emmy snuggled down fairly easily with her teddy bear in her crib and no sooner had I put her in her crib was she asleep.

I leaned over to kiss her cheek and whispered,
“Thank you” into her little ear, she started her snuffly breathing as she fell into a deeper sleep.

